Saved orders

a.k.a "Saved carts"

This function is a special sort of ordering "bridge" between admins and customers. It allows one to create a cart/draft and save it, at which time the other party can see and edit the saved cart, thereby allowing full collaboration between you and your customers -- even in real time!

Customer side: saved carts

Listing view of a customer's saved cartsListing view of a customer's saved carts

Listing view of a customer's saved carts

If a customer is logged in to a front-end site, clicking on "My Account" (generally in the top right area of a page), then "Saved Carts" reveals a listing of any carts they've saved, as well as any drafts you or your admins have saved for them.

From this listing, there are several things a customer can do with a saved cart:

  • Activate: This places all items from the saved cart into the current (active) cart, replacing any items in the active cart. Essentially, this is re-enabling the saved cart in order to pick up where you or the customer left off when it was saved.
  • Copy to Current Cart: Instead of replacing items in the active cart, this action merges the saved and current carts and combines all items in each into a single active cart.
  • View: This provides a view similar to a typical cart view, but without replacing or merging any items in the active cart or "un-saving" the saved one.
  • Delete: Goodbye, saved cart!

Saving a cart

On the customer-facing site, this is where the magic happens!On the customer-facing site, this is where the magic happens!

On the customer-facing site, this is where the magic happens!

After shopping around and adding everything they need to the cart, a customer has the option while viewing the cart to save it, rather than emptying it or proceeding to checkout.

When clicking the Save Cart button, the customer is presented with the option to give the saved cart a name for easy reference in the future. You may have noticed, in the listing of saved carts above, that one cart has a name and one doesn't (called "n/a"). This will either be because the customer opted not to give the cart a name, or because the cart in the listing was created on the admin side, where there is no option to provide a reference name.

Admins don't currently have this option. If a saved cart is named, it was definitely created by a customer.Admins don't currently have this option. If a saved cart is named, it was definitely created by a customer.

Admins don't currently have this option. If a saved cart is named, it was definitely created by a customer.

Admin side: saved drafts

The procedure for an admin to create and save a draft in My Liftoff is identical to the process of creating a draft order for any other purpose. It essentially consists of three steps:

  1. Select the customer for whom you're creating the order
  2. Select products
  3. Save the draft

In the main listing of drafts and estimates in the Orders > Draft Orders/Estimates area of My Liftoff, any draft order with a status of "Saved" is one that's viewable by a customer when they're logged in. Remember that $30.00 "Fancy pen" saved cart in the image above? Here's how it'll look to you or an admin:

Changing or finalizing a saved order

Clicking the "Edit" button next to a saved order allows you to change any of the parameters of the draft. You can add, edit, or remove items; enter billing and shipping information; convert the draft to an estimate; and anything else you might otherwise do with a draft order.

Collaboration

"Save" button highlighted in red; click this to save a new draft and let the customer view it."Save" button highlighted in red; click this to save a new draft and let the customer view it.

"Save" button highlighted in red; click this to save a new draft and let the customer view it.

Admins

When changing the listing of products in a previously saved order in My Liftoff, there's no need to "re-save" the cart -- changes are saved automatically and viewable immediately by the customer.

When creating a new saved draft for the first time, you'll be presented with a "Convert to Saved Order" button. This is what will allow the customer to view the draft you created as a "saved cart" in their logged-in view. Remember, you won't have the option to give your saved draft a name as a customer will.

Customers

Once you've created or changed a saved order, if the customer wants to make changes of their own, they'll need to Activate the saved cart. They'll make their desired changes, and they will need to save the cart once again.

🚧

"Activated" is NOT saved

While a customer has a previously saved cart "Activated," it will not be viewable by an admin in the drafts listing in My Liftoff until the customer has saved the cart once again.